My garden. My peace always.

IMG_6674

A positive change I Introduced into my life 3 years ago. Thankful for the beauty every day. I made the decision at the time ‘because I needed it’. That was after years of limiting beliefs/ things I said to myself (and ultimately believed about myself), that I did not ‘have green fingers’ and that gardening was for others but not for me. I realised that if I don’t try to garden I’ll never know. Many of my plants have died, many of my experiments have failed. The one thing it has taught me if that if something is meant to be it will and whatever is not strong enough to survive will die off – no matter how hard I tried and no matter how much I loved certain plants along the way – some still died. That’s fine. This taught me to accept and let go. lol, as cheesy as it sounds, it is true. Gardening is teaching me to let life flow. It is teaching me that we cannot control everything. We can only learn to make the best of what we have. Gardening has taught me patience – with myself and others. I am forever thankful for the lessons. Life and gardening is a beautiful thing ❤

A few of my favourite gardening quotes ❤

The earth laughs in flowers. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Flowers always make people better, happier, and more helpful; they are sunshine, food and medicine for the soul. – Luther Burbank

A garden requires patient labor and attention. Plants do not grow merely to satisfy ambitions or to fulfill good intentions. They thrive because someone expended effort on them. – Liberty Hyde Bailey

If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need. – Marcus Tullius Cicero

Flowers are restful to look at. They have neither emotions nor conflicts. – Sigmund Freud

The glory of gardening: hands in the dirt, head in the sun, heart with nature. To nurture a garden is to feed not just on the body, but the soul. – Alfred Austin

A garden is a grand teacher. It teaches patience and careful watchfulness; it teaches industry and thrift; above all it teaches entire trust. -Gertrude Jekyll
#mygarden #capetown #love #summer #flowers #colour

Leave a Reply

